Please enter a valid Email

I consent and agree to the Privacy Policy, Terms of Use, Rates & Fees, Responsible Lending, and E-Consent.

Navigation
CLICK HERE TO GET CASH TODAY!
get a cash advance on your mobile device today

Florida Cash Advance Laws & Regulations

In Florida, the cash advance business is regulated by state legislation in order to ensure standards of consumer protection. All lenders in the state of Florida are required to obtain a lending license. CashAdvance.com’s Florida readers can find information on the regulations currently in place to govern payday loans listed below. Laws are subject to change, so continue to check back for the latest loan laws.

Here are some specific Florida regulations, to protect consumers from predatory lending in the payday loan industry:

  • Maximum Payday Loan Term
    31 days
  • Maximum Finance Charges and Fees
    Interest rates are 10%, finance charges are 15%, verification fees, and APR can hit 390%
  • Maximum Loan Amount
    $500
  • Number of Rollovers
    None
  • Outstanding Loans Allowed at Once
    One
  • Cool-Off Period
    Mandatory 24 hours between loans
  • Payment Plan
    Law allows for payment plans, but terms are at discretion of lender
  • Collection Fees
    NSF and late fees
  • Presentment Limit
    One
  • Private Right of Action
    Civil and criminal charges for fraudulent checks
  • Military Protection
    N/A
  • Penalties
    Arbitration, attorney fees, and all loan costs including late fees

As of January 2013, no further legislative mandates governing the cash advance industry in Florida have been passed.

References:

Florida Statute 560.401 et seq.

Florida Office of Financial Regulations
Division of Securities and Finance
200 E. Gaines Street
Tallahassee, FL  32399
Phone:  (850) 410-9805
Fax:  (850) 410-9748
Website:  Florida Office of Financial Regulations