Please enter a valid Email

I consent and agree to the Privacy Policy, Terms of Use, Rates & Fees, Responsible Lending, and E-Consent.

Navigation
CLICK HERE TO GET CASH TODAY!
get a cash advance on your mobile device today

Alabama Cash Advance Laws and Regulations

In the state of Alabama, several laws and regulations have been instituted to protect consumers and maintain uniform compliance to Alabama’s lending standards. While Alabama joins many other states in providing strong usury laws for small private loans, court decisions in 2002 declared that payday loans could not be categorized in the same way as small private loans. This has allowed lenders to enjoy more flexibility in their lending practices and has helped usher in the expansion of payday loan sources in the state. As of January 2013, there have been no legislative or regulatory changes to the cash advance industry in Alabama. The chart below details the most up-to-date legislative requirements that currently apply to Alabama payday loans.

Here are some specific Alabama regulations, to protect consumers from predatory lending in the payday loan industry:

  • Maximum Payday Loan Term
    31 days
  • Maximum Finance Charges and Fees
    17.5% interest per $100, plus $10 origination fee, plus 3% interest to accrue after initial loan period
  • Maximum Loan Amount
    $500
  • Number of Rollovers
    One
  • Outstanding Loans Allowed at Once
    One per lender
  • Cool-Off Period
    24 hours, but only after second payday loan and only if they were paid in full
  • Payment Plan
    Voluntary payment plan of 4 equal monthly installments of entire loan balance plus all fees
  • Collection Fees
    $30 NSF Fee
  • Presentment Limit
    One
  • Private Right of Action
    Civil
  • Military Protection
    N/A
  • Penalties
    Arbitration and attorney fees

References:

Alabama Code § 5-18A-1 et seq.

Alabama Deferred Presentment Services Act, Title 5, Chapter 18A